2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, 10 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Have read a few threads on beginners attempting to learn without a teacher.

Here are my challenges. I'm rural and 2 hours south of San Diego. My internet is via satellite and that means that YouTube videos deplete what little internet bandwidth available to me. I am an ignorant beginner.

I see Alfred, Faber and a few other books recommended. Any others? Also any DVD packages to get me through year 1? I'm headed to San Diego next week to buy learning material.

Might look for a Mexican teacher locally or find someone in San Diego to help me on occasion.

I do have the time to get in 1 hour per day. Thanks for all of your suggestions and knowledge. grin

Last edited by bajadock; 01/23/10 10:37 PM.
B
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
B
Hi bajadock,

What works best depends a lot on how you learn. A lot of people use the various courses successfully while others need the regular input and motivation that a teacher gives.