2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, David B, 8 invisible), 1,265 guests, and 296 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
skanepa Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hello. I've been reading on this site for about a week, and this is my first post. I have some piano knowledge including: reading music, scales and chord progressions,etc. I sing on the worship team at my church, but would also like to play with them. I've been taking private lessons for about 2 months, with prior lessons as a child, very basic. I want to know how to play by chords, play what I hear in my head, but also need to be able to play with a band who uses sheet music for guitar chords. I have composed one song, which includes right hand melody and left hand chords, but want to know how to expand and embelish it. I don't know how to make it sound like I want. I've been looking at PianoMagic.com, but not sure that's the right approach for me, since it emphasizes playing solo. Also, many of the student recordings sound very similar and it's not what I want to sound like. I don't want to have to play every song with right hand melody and left hand chords, but also want to just play accompaniment. So for playing with a worship team, and also wanting to arrange my own songs, would PianoMagic be the answer to what I'm wanting? I'd like to get away from private lessons. Thanks in advance for any advice.

R
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R
As you say, if you are accompanying, you need to keep away from the melody.