2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (Aylin, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 1200s, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,326 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Bartman Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hello folks,

I live and work In perth Western Australia, I am a professional Woodwind and Brass repairer who on many occasions has been asked to tune pianos and has resisted the urge for a long time, however the demand is to the point that even the local papers run advertisements about the lack of professional tuners here in this state

So I am adventuring into the art of piano tuning at my own peril

Ive ordered a book Piano Servicing, Tuning, And Rebuilding: For The Professional, The Student, The Hobbyist by Arthur Reblitz, Ive also ordered a set of tuning tools from piano world. Ive still to order a tool set (recommendations)

B
Bartman Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I intend to purchase a few cheap pianos to start with and work on them, In my shop I have at my disposal cnc lathes, cnc routers, cnc mills, as well as dedicated tool grinders and a miriad of other equipment, what I lack is the knwoledge and experience on pianos. Can anyone also recommend some online sources for information and training

3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
Hello!

One major goal of the Piano Technicians Guild is to help train technicians. Here's a place to get started:
http://ptg.org/becomingATech.php

Although it's a US organization, we have international members. There's also an international association.

--Cy--

Cy Shuster, RPT