2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Craig Hair, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, 4 invisible), 1,265 guests, and 277 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hello!

Here's a little background:
I am looking into buying a piano and have just found out about digital pianos - I realize I'm way behind the times smile I am a very beginner player. Anyway, I cannot afford much at all (probably less than $500) so I am looking at used ones. I don't care anything about being able to make it sound like a violin or anything like that - all I care is that it sounds like an acoustic piano. Also, as far as the looks go, I only like the ones that have a wooden stand with the pedals attached (not a pedal on a cord). Oh and if you can't already tell, I'm totally lost as to what I'm doing smile - it took me forever just to figure out how to post this question!

My first question is what are the brands I should be looking at for a very basic digital piano with a good sound and weighted keys? The Williams brand seems inexpensive for new ones, but does that mean they are not good quality?

And secondly, these are a couple ads in my local classifieds:

"Used Technics digital upright Piano for sale. Condition is mint. Model number PX71. Comes with bench. Paid $1800 new in 2000. Asking $375.00"

and,

"This is a 2 yr old Williams Etude digital piano in perfect as new condition. It comes with wood stand, foot pedal, power cord & user's manual. The sound is incredible. Asking $495.00."