2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (bcalvanese, 20/20 Vision, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, AlkansBookcase, 12 invisible), 1,926 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
chueh Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I don't remember how I started playing trills. I have some intermediate/early advanced transfer students who have trouble playing trills. Their fingers seem stuck together. They have finger separation problems. It's mainly physical problem. I told them to relax the wrist, hand, and fingers, while playing trills. Their fingers cannot relax when playing trills. I even asked them to NOT to think fast when playing trills. Instead, think of them being slow and evenly spaced out the two notes.

However, no success at all with their trills. Their trills are always uneven and fall short. They cannot carry the trills long until the next notes arrive.

Would anyone share with me how you tackle your students' trill problem, and how to tell them to practice? thanks

U
U
Try rhythyms, and accents.

Ex. (numbers represent fingers)
1 2 1, 2 1 2, 1 2 1
3 4 3, 4 3 4, 3 4 3
etc.

On each of the bolded numbers, ask them play the given note accented. The result will be a triplet-like figure with the first note accented for each set. You can also ask them to pause between the triplet figures. Hope it works!

Thanks to my teacher. :]

Music, is Language.
G
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
G
I usually insist on practice with slower trill speeds at first