2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 269 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi organists,
I'm just getting started really, but I play well enough to be in demand at the local rock/blues jams. I never thought about the difference between piano and organ. I simply play midi keyboards and use organ sounds for songs that require it(ex. Dear Mr.Fantasy-Traffic). Here in a forum I read the keyboards are different. I never knew that, yea, organs have a bunch of extra knobs, but the keys are different?
There are times I want to sound organ-bluesy but more often I need to be rockin' out on grand piano. Are there big differences a student should consider between piano and organ besides the sustain organs have? To be honest, on a midi kbd, organ seems easier and slower than piano.
Am I, as a rookie, missing a lot by relying on synth sounds for organ, are there other considerations? Can a sound module really do B3 and other classic tones. Are Leslie simulators any good? I see many guys using 2 or more kbds of various types. Why?
Basically I'm familiar with the gear, but ignorant of technique.Perhaps with this info someone can figure me out and point me in the right direction.
'Luego
mannshands

Last edited by mannshands; 07/05/10 10:02 PM.

Another aging guitarist making the switch to piano. Current rig is a Casio CTK-700 with a small Laney amp.