2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
I am frustrated. I just don't get it.

Self-taught as a kid, I finally decided to take serious piano lessons five years ago and signed up with a Taubman teacher. She's a great teacher, one of the best in town, and I feel I have progressed quite a bit under her tutelage. Yet to this day there is one aspect of the Taubman technique she teaches that I can't get my mind around: the notion that in a scalar passage you need to employ foreman rotation on every note. There are "double rotations" when subsequent notes are in the same direction and "single rotations" when there is a change in direction. The video below explains better what I am talking about.