2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
38 members (Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,155 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Hi there, everybody.

As maybe some of you know I'm an absolute beginner at the piano. I've started practising major scales and chords in chromatic order. Thank God and kind-hearted people there are a lot of tutorial videos on YouTube and such sites, and you can get a tutorial of most popular songs and classical pieces.

But, there are two things I haven't found much material about:
  1. Fingering.
  2. Chord exercises.

Does anybody know of any good sources where those two areas are covered? Preferrably free of charge, but I'll consider all paid courses you can recommend.

Me on YouTube

Casio PX-5S. Garritan CFX, Production Grand 2 Gold, Concert Grand LE, AcousticSamples C7, some Sampletekks. Pianoteq 8 Std (Blüthner, SteinGraeber, NY/HB Steinway D).
N
N
Welcome Pianotehead! I'm a big advocate of the Alfred system. There is no set type of fingering for songs. But if you work through their method book, primarily book 1, they give you the fingerings for the songs. You have a "C" position in which you place your right thumb on Middle C or the G position (G above the middle C) same for the Bass Clef. This helped me with the chords.

They also have a Chord, Scale and Arpeggio book out with all the chords and fingerings for the scales,arpeggios and chord for all keys. Both books are cheap (less than $20 for both I believe)