2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
OP Offline
E
Hello, I started playing piano a 3 months ago (or was it 2? I dont remember...)at the ripe old age of 21. Im not a big forum poster so before I go disappear and go train in the mountains (i might participate in the next recital, because it gets kinda lonely in the mountains frown .) I have a couple of questions.

Its about passive learning. I just wanted to know is it possible to just randomly play some pieces without memorizing it and just practice it mildly. will this help my piano playing? My teacher doesn't think It will, I want to know what other people think about.

Also, will listening to music will help you with sight reading? what I do is take some sheet music and listen to a performer play the piece while i will just follow along. I have a hard time keeping up since im sill using phrases such Every Good Boy Does Fine or All Cows Eat Grass to help me identify the notes. but Its quite fun to do this even if I dont understand most of it. Does doing this help me?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
All the time you play you should be trying to understand where the composer's coming from so you can make it as convincing as they did.

T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T