2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (bcalvanese, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,097 guests, and 324 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Can anybody explain me from the understandable way cause im not a pro at mathematics ?

B
BDB Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
Because a perfect 12th is 3 times the frequency of the fundamental tone, and a 5th is an octave below it.

Semipro Tech
C
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
C
Originally Posted by Batuhan
Can anybody explain me from the understandable way cause im not a pro at mathematics ?

It's pretty hard to explain without going into mathematics but here's a simplified explanation. When the ratio of two frequencies are related as a fraction where neither the top or bottom number is large those frequencies will sound in harmony with one another, if you can't express it as a simple fraction the notes will sound dissonant. 2/1 is the octave, 3/2 is a fifth, 4/3 is a fourth etc. To add intervals you multiply the fractions together so a fourth plus a fifth is 4/3 * 3/2 which is 2/1, or an octave.

The major scale is actually a set of frequency ratios that work well together so that there is a pair of notes which creates each of the intervals 2/1 , 3/2, 4/3 5/4, 6/5. The fifth note in that scale has a ratio of 3/2.