2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, 5 invisible), 1,227 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
dat77 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I am an adult student and am having trouble figuring what key s piece is in. My main trouble is figuring if something is in a major or minor key. For example, if it has 1 flat is it in the key of f major or d minor Is there a easy way to figure that out. What I am doing right now has only one cleft. I try to play a chord with it but I still have trouble.

S
S
If you don't have the score... then its just a matter of hearing the difference. Try listening to major pieces and minor, it gets very easy to differentiate them after a while, just by the feel of the piece.

If you have the score, a good trick is to look at the last chord, which should be a chord based on the tonic.

M
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
M
Minor pieces will often have accidentals as well. For instance, a piece in d minor will often have a C# added to make the harmonic minor.

B.A., Piano, Piano Pegagogy, Music Ed.
M.M., Piano
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
Ideally, you want to learn to hear the differences. In Western music, the 3rd and 6th tones are a whole step higher than the 2nd and 5th tones, but when moving to a minor mode, they are only a half step higher. We generally say that in a minor mode, the 3rd and 6th tones are lowered a half step.