2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1528048 10/04/10 01:03 PM
V
OP Offline
V
I've been researching digital pianos, and as far as specs, the PX130 beats out Yamaha and Korg's offerings in the same price range. As a beginner, I'm not very picky, just want a decent instrument at a good price to suffice for learning.

What do you guys think?

C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C
All three are suitable to the purpose of learning to play. The specs do not tell you what is most important. You really have to play each of them. Play loud and soft and listen if the tone (not just volume) changes. See if the key action seem well built. And also if the controls for selecting voices and so on make sense to you.

A
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
A
Originally Posted by ChrisA
Play loud and soft and listen if the tone (not just volume) changes.

Actually, I think that, in some cases, a piano with more levels of velocity-based tone variations can sound worse than one with fewer! If it's not done well, it can be worse than not doing it at all.

V
OP Offline
V
As much as I'd like to try one out, I don't think it's really worth waiting. I want to get a piano and begin taking lessons ASAP. I'm buying online and getting quick shipping. Many of you probably frown upon that, but I just want something I can play. Just doing a bit of research so I get the best for my money without trying them out.

G