2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (amc252, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, 14 invisible), 1,987 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hi,

I am new to this forum, and I am hoping someone could help me make a decision. I am a beginner, never before played any intrument.I would like to buy a digital piano, but I am not sure which one to get. I would like it to sound and feel as close to an acoustic piano as possible. I don't care so much about extra bells and whistles. I would like to be able to record myself, hook up to the computer, and practice with head phones on. I can spend up to $600. Can i get anything decent for that price? I have been looking at Casio Privia PX 130, Yamaha P85 CONTEMPORARY, Yamaha P95 88-Key Digital Piano. Should i be looking at other brands?

I do appreciate your advice. Thank you.

V
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
V
As a beginner, I don;t think you can go too far wrong with the pianos you've listed. I have the PX-130 and it has a good piano-like action, and connects very easily to a computer via its USB.

You might also want to check out the Korg SP170 and SP250 (the 170 is the newer model, the 250 has the better action). Both are reasonably priced.

"you don't need to have been a rabbit in order to become a veterinarian"

mabraman, 2015
C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C
The only piano you left off you list that is in your budget is the Korg SP170.