2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (benkeys, Burkhard, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, 16 invisible), 1,827 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
2boys Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi, thank you everyone for such a wonderful forum. I've been reading for a while, and gained a lot of information about digital piano. This is my first post.

A few days ago I acquired a CVP-105. I know it's old, but I'm a totally beginner and this is quite cheap and I like the touch and sound. However, three black keys around D of the third octave have sound problem. Some time they have sound, some time the sound is low and some time there is no sound, especially after repeat hitting. After search on the internet, I suspect it is not the key itself but the things beneath the key, because the key’s action is normal. What’s beneath the keys? Spring? Sensor? Ruber? Is it hard to fix by myself? After search the internet, I’m thinking open up and do it myself. But want to cautiously ask the experts here first.

Please help!
Thanks

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
I repaired my CVP 96 some time ago.
Beneath the keys is a kontakt strip or kontakt bubbles.
These sit on a PCB that has printed carbon kontakts.
These carbon contacts lost connection with the underlying PCB traces.
It was not visible, but measurable.
Here is how I repaired it:

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

If you disassemble the keyboard then be sure to mark the parts, especially the rubber strips, because it is possible to reassemble them in the wrong orientation and then it would not work.