2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, 4 invisible), 1,288 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
This is my first time posting on this forum so I'll try to be as clear as possible. I know that lots of sounds are subjective but I need some advice. I've played on an acoustic piano for 8 years and I'm buying a digital piano so I could play in my dorm. With that said, I'm looking for an instrument best in piano sound quality and realism compared to a grand piano for under $1000. I've read around and I'm considering the following digital pianos at this point:

Casio Privia PX-830
Yamaha YDPS31
Yamaha CP-33
Yamaha YPG-635

Which is better in terms of sound quality and realism to a grand? I don't care too much for the sound of other instruments. Are there any other digital pianos I should consider?

Finally, thank you for the help!

-The moderator suggested for me to post in this section.-

A
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
A
Some of those models have speakers, some don't. Do you need a model with speakers? Or will you be using headphones or some other amplification?