2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
47 members (APianistHasNoName, Bruce Sato, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
ProdigalPianist: I agree with everything you've said. Almost.

Notes and scribbles are far harder to replace than an expensive score - and often far more important!

(I'm a piano teacher.)
C
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
C
Originally Posted by btb
... even top accompanists like currawong (with a massive daily workload) have worked out a survival technique to miss out some of the notes.
Not too many of them, old bean, otherwise I wouldn't be re-engaged. smile

Du holde Kunst...
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
Originally Posted by btb
An old wives tale Journey,

Sight-reading gives most people a headache ... lots of sight-reading never results in the wishful thought that a nirvana can be reached to be able to read anything prima vista.

Lots of people avow to their sight-reading improving over the years ... but strangely never
reach the "happy hour"... even top accompanists like currawong (with a massive daily workload) have worked out a survival technique to miss out some of the notes.

Try to be patient chaps in working up a piece of music measure by measure ...
and memorize ... for a quality rendition.

How far your memory stretches is up to you.

I am certain that even old wives can also improve their sight reading skills by properly practicing sight reading.