2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (brdwyguy, accordeur, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, 6 invisible), 1,896 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
Yesterday I played that $6000 Roland V-piano in a store. It was the nicest electronic instrument I've tried. The Yamaha upright piano next to it, for the same price, was about twenty times better.

(I'm a piano teacher.)
D
OP Offline
D
Psychology is a very srange beast isnt it?

A week or so ago I would have said without hesitation that I had no problems whatsoever with our Roland. It was doing me fine playing various Chopin, Debussy and rare moments of Rachmaninov - the sound is still nice and all in all its not a bad instrument at all.

However, a seed of doubt has been planted... then I tackled some other pieces I havent looked at for a while, and I played a piano for a bit earlier (with a critical mind focused on touch rather than sound) this week while waiting for daughters lesson.

That, together with the widespread (and *almost* universal) condemnation on this forum from folks considerably more experienced in such matters than I am...

...and now I'm convinced that our Piano is woefully inadequate.

(Forgive me for cursing you all for helping raise my awareness of the issue! - I now have a b*tch of a 'consumer wanting itch' that isnt going to be scratched for a while)

Parent....
Orchestral Viola player (stictly amateur)....
Hack Pianist.... (faded skills from glory days 20 yrs ago)