2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
OP Offline
T
Hi,
I am a beginner.
I found some piano learning software on the web that connect to the midi port of digital piano.
It sounds like a great idea, it adveritse that it can grade your performance, tell you which part was played wrong, beat error, etc...

Have anyone try these? Any recommendation?

Thanks.

R
R
I've only tried using Synthesia initially when I wanted to learn piano and didn't take any lessons. However I found that I could only play on a single hand and didn't really progress at all.

Instead, it is a good way of quickly trying to learn to play a song when you can't read music. When I used it, I can't get used to looking at falling bars to read the notes. I no longer use it as I have started lessons and am more focused on the exercises the instructor gives me.

The software does display music notation as well as the falling bars, so it seems it will be a very useful tool for practicing songs, getting scored on your performance and seeing how close to the correct speed you play the songs.

I have never tried any of the more expensive commercial programs that clain to teach you to play piano. So I can't comment on them.