2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (benkeys, Burkhard, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, 16 invisible), 1,827 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
dcb Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi everyone. I just started playing piano as an adult about 7 months ago and I'm hooked. I'd like to buy a few CD's of some of the best piano recordings to listen to and would love some recommendations. I know this may seem a bit vague but here's what I'm thinking... I'd like to get some great recordings of a variety of classical piano (baraoque, romatic, etc...0 by a variet of the best piano players. (Horowitz, Gould, etc.)

I just read an interesting book about Glenn Gould so the only "must have" recording on my list so far is Gould playing the Goldberg Variations in both 1955 and 1981.

If someone like me has no piano recordings at all, what would you recommend if I wanted to buy 4 or 5 CD's to start a nice music collection.

Thanks!

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
I only listen to classical music in the car but the finest album I have heard is George Shearing's My Ship.

Yamaha AvantGrand N1X | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
I agree that Gould's Goldberg Variations are exceptionally good.

Just off the top of my head:
Bach - I'd go with any CD by Murray Perahia

For Chopin, Grieg, Saint Saens, Rachmaninoff's Variations on a Theme of Paganini, anything Latin, I'd go with Arthur Rubinstein

Prokofieff - Yefim Bronfmann

Brahms - Radu Lupu

Rachmaninoff - I like Ruth Laredo's preludes