2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, 9 invisible), 1,250 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 15 16
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
BTW Al, I'm no different from you since I'm a relative newbie too.

Just to compare notes, I noticed you do a lot of rootless in the RH. I don't know what happened but I rarely do that now. Maybe because I'm always freeing the upper fingers for improvisation or for the melody. So I try to keep the harmonic structure below finger 2 of my RH.

I guess I was influenced a lot by someone in another forum who said "think 10 fingers rather than LH/RH".

I probably also tend to arrange less and play in a more standard way that I apply to multiple tunes and tend to improvise what I do more. So I'm impressed at how you vary what you do in your arrangements. I probably "wing it" more and rely on more general strategies for a harmonic base and rhythmic variations.

Pianoclues.com for Beginners
My Jazz Blog
Hamburg Steinway O, Nord Electro 4 HP

7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by TromboneAl
Thanks, JW, I'm going to work on that. It would be nice to add some voicings to my quill that include 5ths.

For the practicing of the 5ths, what fingering should I use, 1 & 5 or 1 & 4?

Did I not describe that in the lesson? Wow that's a big omission.