2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,130 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Spodgy Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hi there,

I'm a relative novice at the piano - I'm studying for Grade 3. A while back I bought Dream Theater's Keyboard Anthology and have been having a go at Wait For Sleep.

I know the timings are tricky, but the notes I'm playing don't sound right. Can anyone answer these two questions?

1) Is F the only note which is being sharped? In terms of the key I mean.
2) Is the tab accurate?

Thanks in advance

Jim

Last edited by Spodgy; 12/19/10 07:17 PM.
D
D
I played this many years ago...when it was first released i was fascinated by all the timing playfulness...

to your questions;

1. that sounds right, I think this song is in Em and therefore one sharp (F#) sounds right.

2. I don't know the specific tab. I learned it by listening...and I suggest that you'll do the same. It takes a long time if you've never done this before to figure out the notes but its a great year training and you'll get a lot from it.

If its way too hard...there are a few music software out there that can help you transcribe by slowing down the music.

good luck....have fun

Dror Perl. Pianist, Composer, Teacher.

http://www.sheerpiano.com/

Sheer Piano: The First Full Color Piano Music Books

S
Spodgy Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Thanks for the reply Dror.