Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Gifts and supplies for the musician

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

Trying Something New with Search
(ad) Pianoteq
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
Who's Online
72 registered (angga888, ando, AndyP, AndrewJCW, barbaram, 14 invisible), 970 Guests and 18 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Topic Options
#1626769 - 02/23/11 02:39 PM Phantom power for CP5 mic input?
CMac Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/23/11
Posts: 51
My first post smile

Does anyone know if the Yamaha CP5 mic input has phantom power?
I am looking to plug a Studio Projects C1 mic in there.

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
Kawai Superb Stage Piano and Controller

Click Here


#1626799 - 02/23/11 03:19 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/12/07
Posts: 1761
Loc: Glendale, Ca.
Hi and welcome.

No, only non-phantom powered mics.

I use a Sennheiser E945 with great results. Not too shabby for recording either.
_________________________
http://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D | Yamaha CP4 | CP5

Top
#1626803 - 02/23/11 03:25 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: Dave Ferris]
rickshapiro Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/15/08
Posts: 171
Give the link a try. This is inexpensive and would allow you to use your mic.


http://www.zzounds.com/item--ART127
_________________________
Music Hack

Nord NP88,Yamaha Motif ES7, Ensoniq KS32, Brodmann 187 Grand, JV2080, GR20, JV90, MKS-20, Sonar S1, Reaper, ACID, Record/Reason, Samplitude, VOX Tonelab, Tech21 Power Engine, NI, Kore, True Piano, Sampletank, Komplete, Bluesky Studio Monitors Yamaha 01X, Line 6 HD500, tons of guitars.

Top
#1626806 - 02/23/11 03:28 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
CMac Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/23/11
Posts: 51
Thanks Dave - Probably too much to ask I guess.

Top
#1626807 - 02/23/11 03:31 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
CMac Offline
Full Member

Registered: 02/23/11
Posts: 51
Thanks for the option Rick - although the C1 mic is XLR and I think the preamp is 1/4".

Top
#1626809 - 02/23/11 03:37 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/12/07
Posts: 1761
Loc: Glendale, Ca.
.
_________________________
http://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D | Yamaha CP4 | CP5

Top
#1626823 - 02/23/11 04:00 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
rickshapiro Offline
Full Member

Registered: 12/15/08
Posts: 171
Originally Posted By: CMac
Thanks for the option Rick - although the C1 mic is XLR and I think the preamp is 1/4".


I have this unit at home and I believe it has both an XLR input and output.

http://www.artproaudio.com/products.asp?type=79&cat=1&id=1


Edited by rickshapiro (02/23/11 04:04 PM)
_________________________
Music Hack

Nord NP88,Yamaha Motif ES7, Ensoniq KS32, Brodmann 187 Grand, JV2080, GR20, JV90, MKS-20, Sonar S1, Reaper, ACID, Record/Reason, Samplitude, VOX Tonelab, Tech21 Power Engine, NI, Kore, True Piano, Sampletank, Komplete, Bluesky Studio Monitors Yamaha 01X, Line 6 HD500, tons of guitars.

Top
#1627007 - 02/23/11 08:57 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/03/08
Posts: 1457
Loc: Australia
Here is an extract from the user manual:

"Inputs
The TUBE MP provides both an XLR and 1/4Óinput jack. Use the
balanced XLR input for use with a microphone. Audio input as
well as phantom power (if needed switchable on and off) is supplied
through this jack. Use the unbalanced l/4Ó input jack for
instrument applications.
XLR pin configuration: pin 1 = gnd pin 2 = Positive (hot), pin 3
= negative.
Do not Use both inputs at the same time.
Outputs
The XLR output of theTUBE MP is active balanced You may Òse it
in an unbalanced configuration without harm to the output circuitry.
Use the unbalanced 1/4Ó jack for sending your signal to
amps, processors or other unbalanced configurations. Also, both
outputs may be used at the same time"
_________________________
Rob

Top
#1627014 - 02/23/11 09:08 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/12/07
Posts: 1761
Loc: Glendale, Ca.
.
_________________________
http://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D | Yamaha CP4 | CP5

Top
#1627064 - 02/23/11 10:36 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/12/07
Posts: 1761
Loc: Glendale, Ca.
.
_________________________
http://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D | Yamaha CP4 | CP5

Top
#1627103 - 02/23/11 11:46 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 11/03/08
Posts: 1457
Loc: Australia
Hi Dave,

My post was in response to CMac's post, which in turn, was in response to rickshapiro's recommendation of this pre-amp:
http://www.zzounds.com/item--ART127

The extract I posted, was from the User manual for this model.
Sorry for any confusion smile
_________________________
Rob

Top
#1627138 - 02/24/11 01:08 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Registered: 03/12/07
Posts: 1761
Loc: Glendale, Ca.
.
_________________________
http://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D | Yamaha CP4 | CP5

Top
#1627226 - 02/24/11 08:16 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]
Dave Horne Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Registered: 07/07/04
Posts: 5293
Loc: Vught, The Netherlands
Even though there's no mention of phantom power in the CP5 owner's manual, couldn't we simply use a VOM to measure whether it exists or not?
_________________________
website

mp3\wav files

AvantGrand N3, CP5

Top
#1627243 - 02/24/11 08:45 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: Dave Horne]
Rimmer Offline
Full Member

Registered: 10/15/10
Posts: 483
Loc: United Kingdom
Originally Posted By: Dave Horne
Even though there's no mention of phantom power in the CP5 owner's manual, couldn't we simply use a VOM to measure whether it exists or not?


Phantom power should always be switchable so you can plug and unplug mics like the C1 without breaking them. If it's not in the manual and there is no switch, then I think it's very unlikely that it has PP.

That said, you can software switch phantom power but I still think it would be very dumb to put PP on a stage piano..!

Regards. Rimmer

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
(ad) Teaching Children Music
Teaching Music to Children
(ad) Yamaha Stage Pianos
Yamaha CP4 & CP40 Stage Pianos
(ads) PD - WNG - MH
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tours
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
New Topics - Multiple Forums
The domino effect of fingering, wrong fingering and recovery
by bananasushi
09/02/15 03:00 AM
New video: The most visible piano in Vancouver?
by fazman
09/02/15 02:13 AM
How does your transition from hands separate to together go?
by bananasushi
09/02/15 02:05 AM
Slash Chord Question
by Fatih
09/01/15 10:19 PM
Choosing Digital piano upgrade!
by koitako
09/01/15 09:15 PM
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Forum Stats
80,590 Registered Members
44 Forums
166,614 Topics
2,441,214 Posts

Most users ever online: 15,252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2015 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission