2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, danno858, benkeys, brennbaer, DaCapoDiTuttiCapi, APianistHasNoName, 9 invisible), 1,866 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
OP Offline
C
Hi Guys! I am brand new here and this is my 1st post. Hopefully you can offer me some good advice.
I am a new piano student and have been taking lessons for a little over a year. I decided to upgrade from my keyboard to a real piano in December 2010. I purchased a brand new Kawai K3 Acoustic upright. I had no problems at all util the piano tuner fron the store where I purchased it came for the 1st free tuning. The day after he left I noticed a strange sound when I played a particular note. The only way I can describe it is that it sounds like a bell is ringing. It sounds horrible. I also hear the sound slightly on the next higher key. The the next higher key from that I hear a sound like crickets. Besides those 3 notes, everything else sounds fine.
I called the store back and they arranged for the tuner to come back out to my home. He agreed that it didn't sound right and tried to re-adjust it. It was no better. He advised me to try to live with it. He said it was just a very twangy string.
Long story short, the store has ordered a new string or strings and they are going to replace those bad notes.

My question is....is this normal or common at all?
I am worried that either the tuner did something wrong or there is something wrong with the piano.