2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, 14 invisible), 2,019 guests, and 354 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
Giano Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Ok I'm going to ask for a little help and before you all point me to the other thousand threads like this, I will look at them but I'm very busy at the moment, so I'm just using this thread as a start.

Basically I've been learning piano for about 8 months now but only with a basic keyboard so I want to upgrade to an 88-key DP. Problem is I'm a student, and I'm hopefully travelling the states after I graduate for a few months this summer so cash is just a tad tight as you might guess. So I was wondering what the market of DP's below £500 is like?

Is it worth getting one (bearing in mind I'm no musical genius, but anything is better than what I have now) even if I have to upgrade it again in a year or two, or sticking it out and paying more for a better one? I don't have a teacher and I'm slowly working through Alfred's by myself, but having a 61 key keyboard is holding me back somewhat I feel.

Again I apologise for this thread, but any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Hello Giano,

Within a £500 budget, I'd say your options are limited to the following models:

- Yamaha P85/P95
- Casio PX-130
- Korg SP-170/SP-250

This is assuming you purchase the instrument new, of course. Second-hand/eBay etc. options may also be worth pursuing, however for peace of mind I'd stick with a new model.