2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,784 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1637817 03/09/11 11:15 PM
T
toshiro Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hi,
I'm planning on trying to start taking Jazz Piano lessons sometime soon and I was just wondering what this forum would suggest for a complete beginner first purchase. I'm in college so I would definitely need something portableish, but I do think I should probably get one that most resembles a real piano so the whole 88 keys and weighted dealio. I've been looking at the P155 but I have no idea because I'm a guitar player, so my ability to tell the quality and key weights and sound is a bit limited. I was just wondering what DPs were good for the beginner, but were good enough to last quite a while and maybe jam with some friends once in a while. My budget is probably about $1000 (I'm hoping).

Thanks!

C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C
Originally Posted by toshiro
Hi,