2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 2,128 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
Hello, im new to the pianoworld forums but i am a 18 year old who has been playing the piano since the age of 5 and has been studying under Doris Thomopulos for 13 years. I have a question about Chopin's Waltz in A flat Major. I have listened to many concert pianoists playing this, and i want to know how they connect the main melody without letting the melody go? I also have a youtube performance of this Waltz, search in fuman230, and you will find the video.

thank you smile

"Chopin is a genius when it comes to piano"

Last edited by pianoman9084; 03/20/11 04:14 PM.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Not quite sure what you mean. Do you mean that on the recordings the melody sounds legato even though it's not played with finger legato all the time or...?

P
OP Offline
P
yes sort of. what i mean is that the concert pianoists play the melody very connected, but when i practice and play, the melody sounds disconnected and the tone is broken off. But i think it's because my fingers arent that big and elastic, but they are some what a normal size for a pianoist

Gold Subscriber
Gold Subscriber
Originally Posted by pianoman9084