2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (brennbaer, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 8 invisible), 1,797 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#1686999 05/30/11 09:55 AM
OP Offline
I am somewhat new to playing the piano. My first piano was a rental that the tech tuned with the aid of computer and some software. I got rid of the rental and bought a Yamaha U3. The purchase included an in-home tuning, so the tech showed up and proceeded to tune my piano completely by ear. He said it wasn't very far out of tune to begin with. He started with A440, and tuned by the sound of the intervals. I am pleased with how the piano sounds, but really now... is it possible to tune a piano "right" in this manner?

Painter55 (Bobby in Houston)
Yamaha U3

painter55 #1687010 05/30/11 10:10 AM
Originally Posted by painter55
He started with A440, and tuned by the sound of the intervals.
I am pleased with how the piano sounds, but really now... is it possible to tune a piano "right" in this manner?

To my mind,& with respect, that is the most ridiculous question ever !

It's the only proper way to tune a piano -

if you're sufficiently educated to that skill level.

People who rely on 'artificial' tuning-aids are either

incompetent at what they SHOULD be doing, or con-merchants -

who are charging money for what a monkey could do ...

ie: read a meter to say when it's "right".

John Schofield. NTC Dip. , C.G.L.I.
Professional piano tuner/technician since 1982.
myspace
jpscoey #1687019 05/30/11 10:23 AM
OP Offline