2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
31 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 9 invisible), 1,219 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
C
Greetings all,
Though I have been fixing pianos for about 25 years now, I am new to the piano forums and this is my first post. I'm sure I'll weigh in on topics with my own unique perspective, but I thought a yuk would be a good way to introduce myself. So...

The Verzi Tone Producer!

We found this gem in a 1920's era thin case upright. I cannot remember the brand. It was mounted on the back of the board behind the beams, which I recall being very thin front to back. They seem to have thinned the beams in order to make room for this. Not the greatest engineering trade-off I've ever seen.
A luthier friend of mine said that such devises were sometimes included in the making of mandolins. A patent search showed it being used inside violins, but nothing about its employment in pianos.
Has anyone else seen one of these? Or know anything about the Verzi concept?

[img:left]https://picasaweb.google.com/105412...Gv1sRgCOqPlZf5_rm9RQ#5615482489585209090[/img]
[img:left]https://picasaweb.google.com/105412...Gv1sRgCOqPlZf5_rm9RQ#5615482581232830354[/img]
[img:left]https://picasaweb.google.com/105412...Gv1sRgCOqPlZf5_rm9RQ#5615482641437890322[/img]
[img:left]https://picasaweb.google.com/105412...Gv1sRgCOqPlZf5_rm9RQ#5615482724690921538[/img]

Craig Hair
Hampshire Piano
Chesterfield, MA
Conservative Piano Restoration
Watch us on YouTube