2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, 10 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Hi all,

I am an adult student (30 yr old female) who has been taking lessons for 7 years. Last week, I took my grade 7 RCM exam, and much to my dismay found out last evening that I didn't pass. I should also mention that this examiner seemed to mark quite hard, as I played about the same last year, and passed at that time.

I have two big obstacles.... one is the lack of practice time. I have a husband, 2 small children, and not a lot of free time. The other is that I feel my teacher just doesn't care. She is the 2nd teacher I've had in my years of study, and I've been going to her for about 2.5 years. I don't know about you other adults, but I always find that teachers are wrapped up in the children. I am the only adult that my teacher has. Recently I told her that if I didn't pass the exam that I probably wouldn't touch the piano again. She laughed at me.

This whole failure has been a huge blow to me, and I am contemplating whether to continue with my exam studies (I could do the exam again in January), just play for pleasure, or give up altogether. I don't know whether to continue with this teacher, or begin the search for a new one.

I'd love to hear from anyone who has has simliar experiences either with not passing an exam (and how you got over the hump of failing), or anyone who feels the teacher just doesn't give a damn.