2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, Colin Miles, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,944 guests, and 251 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1756457 09/21/11 09:01 AM
OP Offline
I'm not good at sight reading. I have an easy book here that I'm going to start playing 1-2 songs every day. I figured I would just play each song twice and go to the next one.

So I tried it yesterday.

I play slowly (hands together) and it just ends up sounding like random notes because I can't stay on tempo. Most of the songs aren't familiar either so that doesn't help.

My question is, is this going to help me sightread? Should I find an easier book to work through for this purpose? Should I expect myself to be able to keep a slow tempo or is this something that will come with practice?

I think the songs are a little easier than the level I'm at, but maybe they aren't easy enough.

Looking for some guidance. My teacher's idea of sight reading is giving me a new song to practice. I told her I had a book and wanted to use it to practice sight reading, but she didn't really say anything...

Started piano Dec 2009
----------------------
Working on:
-Anything composed by D. Nevue
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Hi GracieCat,