2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
28 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, 8 invisible), 1,180 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
If a teacher is asking you to throw everything away and start again, that's extremely serious and IMO requires a second, third, and fourth opinion.

My distinct impression is that the OP is not in that kind of situation at all, but is trying to wriggle out of ever trying anything new or different.

(I'm a piano teacher.)
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
I find the presumed 'perfect pitch' test strange.

G
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
G
Originally Posted by david_a

My distinct impression is that the OP is not in that kind of situation at all, but is trying to wriggle out of ever trying anything new or different.

And that is possible, but supposing we are wrong?

Wouldn't it be best to address the possible topics? Playing scales in groups (say group of 3, group of 5), testing for pitch recognition, the importance of recognizing intervals when learning music--these would all be valid topics, and it would keep us from even the possibility of judging someone we do not yet know. smile

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

You cannot be sure. What you may not be aware of if you did not start as an adult student, is what great weight the words of an on-line teacher can have. This in particular:

... excessive resistance to change .... a major crippling problem that you need to get over immediately ....