2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
I've been playing for close to 7 years now so this gives you an idea of what I do at this stage. I have a 2-3 hour routine daily that looks like this...

30 Min -

TECHNIQUE
Scales - Grand Scale at higher tempos, and played legato, staccato, detached with various accents, and LH/RH ratios 1:3, 1:4, various articulations (finger vs. arm weight).
Hanon brought to a higher tempo - listening carefully for unevenness or legato issues
Legato/Finger independence exercises (customized routines - I can explain if anyone is interested)
Arpeggios

15-30 Min-

TUNES/PIECES FOR ADVANCED DEVELOPMENT
Chopin Etude 10/1 - I will play it and look for the slowest phrase, then I will work on that phrase extremely slowly.
Giant Steps - increase tempo and create melodic motifs or play at slower tempo with 16th notes (with metronome) -

1-2 hrs -

IMPROVISATION
Then I will play all the tunes for my next gig using a backing track (if applicable) and checking my solos against a mental checklist of current issues I want to improve on (e.g., phrasing, articulation, time, melodic structure, space, dynamics, tone, or learning a new tune).

I attempt to play all tunes with a fixed rhythm (backing track or metronome).

Then once in awhile, I'll just play.

Pianoclues.com for Beginners
My Jazz Blog
Hamburg Steinway O, Nord Electro 4 HP

6000 Post Club Member