2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, 3 invisible), 1,342 guests, and 285 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1792789 11/20/11 06:16 PM
E
OP Offline
E
Hi, I'm having an issue with a few students whom attend group lessons with me. This is an in-school/after-school free group lesson program, and I am a science teacher with pretty good piano playing skills, and very good teaching-in-general skills, but I'm still putting the two together so that I'm good AT teaching piano.

My issue is that the students in one of my group lessons have a totally unrealistic idea of where their skills are. We started sessions about 8 weeks ago and they were starting pretty much from scratch. When I asked the students what sort of music they wanted to play, they were all over the place. We settled on "Jingle Bells", which took them quite a while to learn. They had a lot of difficulty playing it rhythmically and accurately.

Last week, one of them came in thinking that he knew how to play "Fur Elise" and tried to play the opening notes (inaccurately, in the wrong key) and said that his twin brother had taught it to him, and in only five minutes. He claimed that he could teach it to the other two. I had all three demanding that this be the next song we learn. I played it for them as a way of demonstrating its difficulty level, and they were impressed and momentarily intimidated, but somehow still convinced that they were ready for it.