2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 13 invisible), 2,099 guests, and 305 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1796655 11/27/11 12:37 PM
V
verbo Offline OP
OP Offline
V
Dear friends,

I have almost 20 years of keyboard-playing experience (at least 10 of them on piano) - not as a professional, rather as a hobby. I have owned in the past a Yamaha P80, which I sold last year for financial reasons.
Since then, I have been 'on the hunt' for a replacement high-end stage piano that will be mostly situated inhouse but could be also used if we meet with friends at other sites (around 3-4 times a year). Roland RD-700NX is the most prominent candidate for my case, even though I had a look at Kurzweil PC3X (not PC3K8 since I am not interested in the sampler). I know PC3X is considered a workstation whereas RD700NX is labelled as a stage piano, but I have read in different reviews that many professionals use it (PC3X) for its piano sound and touch.
What would you comment on this?

Furthermore, I have been looking for a stand on which I will put the stage piano. K&M 18953 has been suggested by many friends in this forum, as the most appropriate one for this use. However, I have found a competitor which much cheaper (approx. half price in Europe) and seems quite similar; Ultimate Jamstand JS-MPS1 (http://www.ultimatesupport.com/product/JS-MPS1).
Please comment on this. smile

George

Current equipment: Korg pa4X | Roland RD700NX | KRK RP6-G2 | Midas MR18
G
3000 Post Club Member