2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
RB435 Offline OP
OP Offline
R
I am an advanced beginner who practices for several hours each day on a Roland DP990F digital piano. It is 2011 year model with touch sensitivity, weighted grand piano action (PHA II), and it does all the latest string resonances, etc. I get all of my pieces to sound nearly perfect on the DP990F, but have trouble when I go for my weekly lesson and play on the teacher's Steinway B grand. The Steinway keys feel extremely heavy and even clunky. It feels so different I get nervous and start to make mistakes on what was a perfectly polished piece at home. And, not only that, the whole time the teacher's in the background yelling "play harder" FORTE, LOUDER, etc. which then causes me to get more nervous and make even more mistakes on that piano. The teacher also keeps suggesting I go buy an upright, but that's not very practical or affordable right now. Why is this happening and what should I do ? Even if I did go finance an upright, wouldn't there still be some problems adjusting back and forth between the upright piano and the Steinway B ? I thought that modern digitals were perfectly acceptable for learning on ? Please share any experience, insights, or recommendations you have about this problem. It will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by RB435; 11/30/11 06:07 PM.
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
Originally Posted by RB435