2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, 11 invisible), 2,007 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
newbieB Offline OP
OP Offline
N
In the town that I live in there are literally 0 piano instructors. I've been playing guitar for about 18 years. I record music for fun. I've had a keyboard for a couple of years just as a midi device. Used it mostly for drums interestingly enough.

Anyway I finally decided I'd like to learn to play piano. Question is should I just get some beginner books and get started? Learn scales and chords and just start learning to play songs?

I've seen some online youtube lessons. Just wondering if anyone has any advice. I'd like to go to an instructor but i've been looking for days and there really aren't any in my town.

Thanks
B

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Hi newbie B, and welcome to the forum. I can't give any suggestions for beginner books or methods. But there have been a couple discussions on the forum over the past few weeks about individual online lessons via Skype. Try doing a search on that.

Mary Bee
Current mantra: Play outside the box.
[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image] XVI-XXXVI
B
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by newbieB
I've had a keyboard for a couple of years just as a midi device. Used it mostly for drums interestingly enough.

Ooooo. Don't say that around here. Might start a riot! wink