2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, 4 invisible), 1,281 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1805942 12/14/11 11:08 AM
J
jmg3y Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Recent posts suggest that virtual pianos equivalent in sound quality can be assembled for less than recently released high end digital pianos. I'm a rank newbie to this but if so, that isn't the way things work in a lot of competitive markets. Starting from scratch, how much less and what components (computer, sound card, keyboard, speaker system, . . .) are equivalent in sounds, sound quality, and keyboard feel of, say, a Roland FP-7F? Or looking at it another way, what does easy portability or classic looks cost?

jmg3y #1805979 12/14/11 12:30 PM
K
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
K
Part of the equation is that you can use a computer for other things. This makes it very cost effective. Buying everything just to make a dedicated piano, not so much. Especially if you don't have one to start with. For example:

Studiologic Numa Nero controller $1299.95
Ivory II grand pianos $319
Mac mini $599

These are Sweetwater's prices. Total: $2297.95
Roland FP-7F -> $1999 Roland wins

Now if you choose a cheaper software package and already have a computer it swings the other way. The controller and the computer can do a lot more than just FP-7F so with additional software you could also have as a host for synths, DAW and create the equivalent of a very high end arranger workstation.