2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Dalem01, Cheeeeee, danno858, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Dfrankjazz, Carey, 7 invisible), 2,075 guests, and 323 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 26 of 74 1 2 24 25 26 27 28 73 74
hi Piano forum,
I am 18 years old. I dont go to college and i dont have a job so i thought i might pass the time Beethoven style and learn the most important skill of all, music.

My goal is to learn Jazz, that would be just too rad.

Hail Satan! I mean McCain...
C
C
Hello,

I am 32 years old and have just started playing piano again. I have been self-taught, and first found a piano at my grandmother's house when I was four.

We couldn't afford lessons or a piano until I was about twelve, when my grandparents helped us buy a Clavinova. I had to loan it to some cousins when I went away to college and for some time after that (too expensive to ship, no car) but it's now back at home with me and I've started to play again.

This Thursday is the first time I'm going to have a real lesson with a piano teacher, so I'm extremely nervous and anxious about it. I would really like to become more proficient (i.e. can play beautifully instead of just hitting the correct keys) and learn music theory and solfege. I don't feel like I know much of anything at all; and I don't know what level I am in terms of playing --- my sight reading is absolutely horrendous, though!

I don't play well in front of others, which adds to my anxiety, but I'm hoping that lessons will help out with that.