2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 12 invisible), 2,158 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
About two weeks ago I bought a Yamaha Arius YDP 161. I am a complete beginner and the purpose of getting a digital piano is to allow me to practise in silence while learning. Some time in the future, when my technique and progress become constrained by a digital piano, I would like to get an acoustic piano.

At the time I was not aware of the GH3 action of the Clavinova but having since found out about it I am contemplating upgrading the Arius to a Clavinova CLP 430 which uses the GH3 action. The Arius uses a GH action. The store has offered to sell me their demonstration model Clavinova CLP 430 for a good price and I will simply pay them the difference in cost. Even though it is a demonstration model I don't think it has been played much.

Converted to US dollars, I paid the equivalent of $ 1,675 for the Arius and they are offering me the Clavinova for the equivalent of $ 2,375 (discounted from a sticker price of $ 3,125).

Having compared the Arius and the Clavinova, here are my observations:

• I was able to play repeated notes slightly faster on the Clavinova than on the Arius.
  • I was able to play repeated notes much more quietly on the Clavinova than on the Arius. This may be the biggest advantage for me.