2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,220 guests, and 341 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
I'm looking for a DP to learn on for non-classical music. Home use only, no gigging. I can get these three DPs locally for $1600, which is pretty much the top of my budget. (I already have good monitors.) I'd love to spend more if I could but I can't, and this would be my only DP for a couple of years.

Are there any important differences I should know about these models? I'm a newbie to pianos and am self-taught with synths, but I'm hoping to get a decent enough DP to start taking lessons this summer and get decent technique (and unlearn my own bad technique).

EDIT: The Nord is the original version, which I can get with a 30-day return. The other DPs can be bought new with warranty.

Last edited by Turnabout; 04/28/12 10:00 AM.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
All three boards you list are pretty good - it really comes down to personal preference, so you need to play-test them for a while first.

I would recommend the RD-300NX over the FP-4F though, especially if you already have a pair of monitors.

Cheers,
James
x

Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.
A
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
A