2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
47 members (APianistHasNoName, Bruce Sato, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1890869 05/04/12 04:10 AM
OP Offline
Hello smile

I often see topics about speed posted in various fora and as an ultra beginner I tried to reflect a bit on that to see how I should deal with the problem.

First, to me at least it's seems that speed isn't really an issue when you begin, at least not how fast the finger moves. What I mean is, they are so many other aspects that slow you down: reading speed, dynamic acuity, "landing" precision... With all those factors combined, you are not in a position to play pieces that would require a faster finger speed than what you are already able to produce, at least the way I see it.

Of course, I am not saying that building speed is useless but to me it appears to be a fairly low priority objective compared to reading skill, finger precision and mastering the dynamic.

Because of all that here is how I plan to work on that particular topic: