2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
33 members (Cominut, crab89, Animisha, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 4 invisible), 1,178 guests, and 270 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
OP Offline
M
I am an adult male student with a young family. I've had to cut back my lessons to every other week with my current piano teacher because of the way our schedules work out. It's a long story but basically she teaches only at night and I work at night so our schedules align every other week (it's actually more complicated than that with kids and a working spouse but you get the point). Anyway, I was thinking of taking up guitar lessons on the off week. I have a guitar teaching friend that has a very flexible schedule. I should have no problem scheduling a guitar lesson with him during the day on the off week that has no piano lesson. As piano teachers, would this annoy/worry/anger/threaten you or would you be pleased to see a student reach for new limits? I think that guitar instruction may benefit my piano playing too. Thank you.

8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
I'm not a teacher (well I do give occasional lessons to cousins, but that's different than being a professional). But I will say that ANY music teacher worth having should be enthusiastic about any other musical pursuits their students may undertake. I know my own teacher is highly supportive of me taking up other instruments.

Close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and nuclear weapons.
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
+1.