2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (busa, clothearednincompo, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, benkeys, Burkhard, 5 invisible), 1,131 guests, and 256 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
I have both the Korg SP250 DP and the Galaxy Vintage D sampled piano, as well as Pianoteq 4 Stage modeled piano software. Please be aware I am an older adult beginner piano student.

When practice time comes, I much prefer the Korg to my other options. The sound on the Korg is much richer and the keyboard action is excellent compared to my budget M-Audio 49-Key controller. The exception to this is when I choose to play something using a pipe-organ. Then the Hauptwerk virtual organ is king, over ruling the internal organ sounds of the Korg and other DPs that I have available.

I am writing this because I've read the threads here discussing the new Ivory American D piano VST. I almost pressed the "buy button" on Sweetwater for the Ivory American D, but then I played on my current DP configurations. After playing each of them, the Korg is the most satisfying to me versus my sampled piano and software options. I'm just using the Presets and not doing any customizing. Maybe the sound of the Korg has been designed to be seductive sounding (i.e. stereophonic and ample reverb) rather than what a real grand piano would sound like?

Do the high end sampled software pianos really sound that much better that what is produced from some of the lower to mid DPs available, that a beginning student would appreciate?

Kawai MP6 | Korg SP-250
Galaxy Vintage D | Pianoteq 4 Stage