2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, 6 invisible), 1,207 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Hello fellow teachers!

I have about five years experience teaching piano, three at a private school that arranges the lessons and policies and payments. I have run into a possible situation, and need to know how to handle it.

I teach Monday and Wednesday afternoons. I had a cute little first grader walk in Monday, with her first "assignment" in hand that I have all new and returning students do- write down "Why I am taking piano lessons."

She had a typical answer, "because it will be fun" and we began a keyboard introduction. She still sounds out her words so I was going slowly anyway, and chose very simple exercises that my pedagogy professor taught us that I have not seen in any books. We were noticing patterns and highs and lows and dynamics, and finger numbers, and just exploring.

I asked her how this piano compared to hers, and she dropped that she does not have a piano or a keyboard, at all. Instead of offering a primer book, I suggested what I have dubbed a pre-primer book, that has her writing the music ABC's and recognizing note patterns going up, down, same, and quarter notes, but none of the book takes a keyboard to do.

Oh, mom was invited in, but chose to stay in hallway with brother.