2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, Charles Cohen, 20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 9 invisible), 1,922 guests, and 266 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Mozza Offline OP
OP Offline
So, I've been playing piano/keyboard for two years now more or less. I've played mostly in a rock context, but I did take a couple private piano lessons and did learn some classical keyboard stuff as part of my music theory class. I'm very good at musical theory and reading music. I'm also pretty good at playing piano; I can learn songs very quickly through youtube videos, or rock band, or people showing me what to play. Except, when I read music and then need to play those notes on a keyboard and remember what my hands did it becomes incredibly hard for me. Rock songs are slightly more repetitious than the average classical piece I imagine, but I don't understand why I have so much trouble. I also don't know how to fix it.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Are you saying that classical music is what's hard for you or that playing on an acoustic piano is what's difficult? If it's the latter, than you may just need more time to adjust to the touch of an acoustic piano.

P
P
It sounds to me as though it is sight-reading that is difficult, as a skill?

And when you say very good at theory, what level of theory are you talking about? College theory of harmony and counterpoint, or the fundamentals?