2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, AJMurphy, Barry_Braksick, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, 7 invisible), 1,590 guests, and 218 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
alex s Offline OP
OP Offline
I have been playing the piano on and off for over ten years now. My musical maturity has progressed to the point that I feel confident in getting some melodic ideas out of my head and putting them in compositional form. My main interest would be writing nocturnes in the form of Field and Chopin. I have played several of these works and studied the scores. My grounding in theory is fairly basic. Any resources out there would anyone suggest so I can ultimately write a full nocturne? My approach would be first to analyze the Field nocturnes (his seem less fully developed than Chopin's), understand his techniques, write a few pieces that mirror a specific nocturne. I think by understanding the "why's" of using such techniques of what makes these nocturnes beautiful, that will help my understanding of creating something of my own. From there, I would use those techniques and write something original. Sounds like a good approach? What technical understanding do I need to write a piece to see what works? Counterpoint, harmony, and knowledge of intervals?

Last edited by alex s; 09/28/12 11:58 AM.
alex s Offline OP
OP Offline