2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, Charles Cohen, 20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 9 invisible), 1,922 guests, and 266 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
OP Offline
N
I'm a novice piano player btw and I'm new here so hi smile

Is there anything like this that pianists shouldn't do?
Something like, gripping too much or carrying heavy objects(Is it bad?). Or what other things? Also, is cracking finger joints bad?

Edit: It's just that i've been doing these things and i hope i'm ok

I asked because I feel weird with my ring finger or it's joint between the palm or i cannot tell exactly. About the carrying part i already know its kinda bad because after carrying something heavy my fingers feel weird and it involuntarily curls (or twitch)? frown

Next year... I'm gonna have an acoustic piano next year!!! :))
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I'd avoid trying to punch holes in walls.

D
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
Originally Posted by pianoloverus
I'd avoid trying to punch holes in walls.

If only for the sake of the sheet rock!

I would add that some of the worst things you can do are repetitive things. Holding a phone in your hand for five hours a day is a small tension, but combined with other activities, can lead to excessive fatigue, inflammation, and if not treated, injury.

One of the absolute worst activities, ironically, is typing on a keyboard. Especially if you rest your wrists on anything while typing.