2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, 9 invisible), 1,706 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1982935 11/05/12 10:24 AM
OP Offline
My new (first) digital piano arrives today (Casio PX330) and I get to play piano again after a long break from proper practice.

I'm about grade 5 level with my fingers but strong on theory and music in general (I'm a Music graduate).

I want to get better at pretty much everything - classical pieces, sight reading, jazz, left hand comping, soloing etc. I'm capable of teaching myself but need some resources/suggestions for what to play - particularly things that are available cheaply/for free.

Classical - I see the free sheet music thread that should be useful. But I could use some suggestions for repertoire. I've played some Chopin Preludes (E minor and B minor) in the past.

Comping/technique/sight-reading - I feel much more at home in sharp keys (I'm primarily a guitarist - also a brass player, which makes me more at home in these keys). So I could do with lots of good exercises to get me familiar with other keys. Do I just do arpeggios and scales or is there anything more interesting. Hanon is horrible. Is it worth ploughing through something like Riemenschneider to learn sightreading?

Soloing/improvisation - any good resources? I can play by ear but any useful patterns/tricks for good keyboard soloing would be good.

Any suggestions for what to work on would be great - particularly if they're cheap!

P
Online Content
P
HI, Rockbadger,