2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,123 guests, and 336 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
L
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
L
Hey KeyString,

First off, I had forgotten this ludicrous episode until you and Ann brought it up again:
Originally Posted by keystring
I wonder if you were remembering my story, where I was forbidden to teach cursive because it was not in the curriculum guidelines until grade 3, back when I was a teacher.

What a great story.

I used the bait and hook metaphor because Nanner1 Mozart’s young student seems to be reluctant to put musical symbols on the page. I thought if we could get him doing that without placing it in that light, then, perhaps by the time he realizes he is actually doing just that, it will be “too late”, and he will already be enjoying the process.

I believe I, personally, learned rudiments and theory on a rather abstract level. While I was obviously and intentionally studying “music”, my interest at the time was not to relate it to sound, but rather to discover how the mechanics of music worked. It was so long ago, it is difficult to guess whether I would have had a richer experience if more direct tie-ins to sound or instrument were included by the teacher(s).

I believe that we learn more, in most circumstances, if stuff is NOT spelled out, and if we, as students, have to build those bridges of understanding on our own. Of course there is risk there, but also the opportunity of great reward.