2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
wizman Offline OP
OP Offline
W
Does such a thing exist? I am an experienced pianist but I do not want to spend thousands of dollars on an AvantGrand to get a quality action. I need an 88 key midi-capable keyboard to use with Reason 6.5 (my DAW).

I don't need features, I just need a great action. Any recommendations?

K
Kos Offline
K
Originally Posted by wizman
Does such a thing exist?

Nope

"There is nothing to piano playing besides producing the appropriate velocities on the appropriate keys at the appropriate time" (c) qvfarns
M
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
M
Great? Perhaps not.
No nonsense? Yes. You could try any old Yamaha board with the GH action, such as CP33/CP/50/P155 or (above 2K) Kawai's MP10, Roland's RD 700NX or Yamaha's CP5. Choose your poison. All these have 'features', of course.
There is a rumor that Kawai is testing out a new board. Might be what you are looking for.

K
K
Originally Posted by maurus
Great? Perhaps not.
No nonsense? Yes. You could try any old Yamaha board with the GH action, such as CP33/CP/50/P155 or (above 2K) Kawai's MP10, Roland's RD 700NX or Yamaha's CP5.

FP-7F provides the same action like RD-700NX and costs less, doesn't it? No offence I'm just asking since I'm interested in the topic myself!

Originally Posted by maurus
Choose your poison. All these have 'features', of course.